Skip to main content

Miles Davis The Bootleg Series Vol. 7: That’s What Happened 1982-1985 3CD

This product is sold out
Ships from the UK

3CD - That’s What Happened 1982-1985: Bootleg Volume 7 is the next instalment in the celebrated, award-winning archival series that began in 2011, shining an in-depth light onto different eras of the legendary career of Miles Davis. In the 1980s, popular music had moved to a smoother, electronic-based sound that traded the steam of previous years for subdued arrangements meant to elicit peace and deep reflection. Miles Davis embraced this era, pulling inspiration from FM radio and an upstart music video channel called MTV. He was searching for the next frontier, letting his creativity roam. This music on The Bootleg Series Vol. 7 captures that exploration, and finds Miles beginning to re-emerge in a creative landscape far different than the one he left in 1975. He’s touched every inch of pop culture while keeping true to his iconoclastic vision of jazz as amorphous art that’s supposed to bend and flow and mutate to something else. On That’s What Happened, we get to play in the rubble of what would become yet another period of unprecedented innovation. Beauty resides in evolution. The set collects nearly 4 hours of unreleased music including 2 CDs of studio material from 1982 to 1985 plus another CD containing a complete, blistering show of one of Miles’ last amazing bands captured live at the Festival International De Jazz De Montreal in July 1983. Side men include a multi-generational who’s who of jazz talent from JJ Johnson, John McLaughlin, Al Foster and John Scofield to Mike Stern, Marcus Miller, Daryl Jones and Vince Wilburn.

3CD Tracklist:


  1. Santana (13:06)
  2. Minor Ninths, Part 1 (3:13)
  3. Minor Ninths, Part 2 (4:13)
  4. Celestial Blues, Part 1 (8:05)
  5. Celestial Blues, Part 2 (4:04)
  6. Celestial Blues, Part 3 (6:57)
  7. Remake of OBX Ballad (5:00)
  8. Remake of OBX Ballad Sessions (7:17)
  9. Freaky Deaky, Part 1 (9:50)
  10. Freaky Deaky, Part 2 (5:25)


  1. Time After Time (alternate) (5:53)
  2. Time After Time (full session) (8:58)
  3. Theme From Jack Johnson (Right Off) / Intro (8:30)
  4. Never Loved Like This (studio session demo) (5:00)
  5. Hopscotch (slow) (5:39)
  6. Hopscotch (fast) (6:59)
  7. What’s Love Got To Do With It (4:25)
  8. Human Nature (alternate) (5:59)
  9. Katia (full session) (10:24)

CD3 (Live in Montreal, July 7, 1983)

  1. Speak (That’s What Happened) (12:27)
  2. Star People (9:21)
  3. What It Is (6:58)
  4. It Gets Better (12:25)
  5. Hopscotch (7:51)
  6. Star On Cicely (9:12)
  7. Jean-Pierre (7:34)
  8. Code 3 (6:36)
  9. Creepin’ In (10:36)